Wedding Week: The Ceremony

July 23, 2013 § 2 Comments

Early on we decided that we wanted to have a brief ceremony infiltrated with God and how He defines love.  We wanted our marriage to start out on a foot centered on God.  We were blessed to have James’ pastor, Ray, officiate our wedding, and worked with him on how we wanted our ceremony and program to be structured.

BrealynJames-0147

It rained right before the ceremony began, which cooled off the day and made for a beautiful backdrop of clouds hanging over the Tetons.

BrealynJames-0150

The chalkboard sign, beautifully drawn by my artistic Aunt, was placed before the chairs telling people to sit anywhere, as we are all family.  Beautiful music played on the harp and violin drifted through the air, but honestly I only heard my heart beating excitedly.
BrealynJames-0151 BrealynJames-0159 BrealynJames-0164 BrealynJames-0169

Our Maid of Honor (my sister) and Best Man (James’ brother-in-law) walked our flower girl, Bella, and ring bearer, Duke, down the isle with them. Surprisingly they did well and even laid down during the ceremony.
BrealynJames-0173
Upon exiting the tent to walk through the field, I was nervous and couldn’t believe the moment was already here.  James wiped away tears as he saw me for the first time, and I smiled from ear to ear, conscious of every person around me.  We grabbed hands tightly, in our unique signature hand hold, and I tried to calm my breathing.
BrealynJames-0175 BrealynJames-0184 BrealynJames-0187 BrealynJames-0198 BrealynJames-0200 BrealynJames-0210 BrealynJames-0216 BrealynJames-0221
The ceremony was beautiful and I enjoyed every moment of it.  We wrote our vows, adding a little bit of our own twist to the typical vows.  James spoke his vows to me through loving tears, which made me teary eyed.  Thank goodness I was second, as I got a hold of myself and was able to speak mine clearly…though I did mess up at one point, saying that when James needed help I would help myself, instead of saying I would help him.  Needless to say I ended up laughing and the crowd joined in laughing as well!  There has to be at least one mistake, right?
BrealynJames-0228
After the ceremony we quickly slipped into the tent with our bridal party and celebrated with them before heading off to take pictures.
BrealynJames-0459

Next up – Wedding Week: The Reception

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Wedding Week: The Ceremony

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wedding Week: The Ceremony at The Life of Curls.

meta

